Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 28 January 2013

But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him:  Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did. 1 John 2, verses 5-6.

I just got back from the gym where I did two miles on the treadmill.   One was a run and one was a warm up/cool down walk.   Now, I know many people who walk and run more, and to be honest I have been one of them.   Not long ago I would run 14 miles and walked one.   Injuries, weight gain, and lazy lethargy took my initiative, though, so now I’m taking it back.  It’s my hope to get back up to that run and do a marathon soon.

Do you think that, if Jesus were here in body, He would be on a treadmill?

The obvious answers are, “yes and of course not.”  The truth is that Jesus IS on the treadmill with me.   He’s right behind me holding me up.   He’s beside me setting a pace.   He’s in the sweaty gal a row over to the right, who’s struggling to keep her stride.   He’s in the athlete just doing daily cardio.   He’s in the guy chatting up the weightlifter about how to clean 300.  The truth is that Jesus is wherever you and I are, whether we acknowledge Him or not. 

And of course not, Jesus wouldn’t be on a treadmill.   Because He’s fully man (as well as fully God), for His sake, I hope He sleeps in a bit more.   I’m only up out of habit.   Jesus is God and I’m not.   I hope He doesn’t need to keep in shape.   I’m thinking He’s in shape without the treadmill.   Perhaps I need to think about that one some more.

Here’s the difference that I don’t need to think about:  whether I’m on a treadmill at the athletic center, or walking a carriage down the aisle at Kroger, or driving in my car, waiting at the post office, sitting on my sofa, or doing anything in this world, Jesus is where I am.   I can only be in Him, though, if I fully submit to Him in every way, spiritually, emotionally, mentally, consciously, physically.   Only when I fully rely on Him can I truly say I’m in Him.  God’s blessings are all around.   The proof of His love is in every miracle breath we take.  Only when I submit in thankful reverence to Him for those miracles can I truly get understand the idea that I am fully in Him.

And to do that, I don’t even need to hit the gym.

Jesus, wanna hit the gym with me?   Thanks for giving me endurance and the miracle of life to live in You.  Be in me today and teach me to be in You, to give all to You.

Leave a Reply

