Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 18 February 2013

They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us.  1 John 2, verse 19.

This is a continuation from the last verse, which talked about how antichrists have come and these are our last hours.   After writing Friday’s words, that verse hit home for me, just like today’s does as well.   You see, I said and did something that was very un-Christian, and showed a little of what those antichrists look like.  

A friend and I disagreed online.   Both of us have very strong views, and to be fair we’re both right and we’re both wrong.   I respect him and his strength of conviction even as we so strongly disagreed.  Friday, we were debating/arguing/disagreeing/being dumb and he de-friended me.  It caught me by surprise, and I was offended.  Rather than using it as an opportunity to extend God’s grace, my reaction was to call his action gutless and stupid, and in the process I made myself look equally stupid.  Worse, I brought discredit on these words of Christ that I proclaim here.  

This bothered me all weekend, so today I took some steps to help build bridges and make amends for my thoughtlessness and stupidity.   Last week, I said I’d pray for my friend, and I do and will keep doing so even as we aren’t friends anymore.   I think that’s a miracle of faith, that we get the privilege of praying for people who wronged us, or people we’ve wronged.   It’s one of the ways God buys back the consequences of our sins, reshaping the world, and increasing His glory in the face of our human frailty.

The whole episode illustrated this verse, how our sins aren’t of God.   The apostle writes here that the little antichrists are everywhere.   They are all the things that are anti-Christ, against God.   All of my sins separate me from God, and all of them are diametrically against who and what He is.   When I do stupid things like I did last week, I pit myself against God, siding with the sin of pride.   When that happens, it’s like Don McLean sang: “I saw Satan laughing with delight the day the music died.”

Thank God that He works through ALL things, that He gives us the privilege of apology and sometimes the opportunity to make amends.    Even more, thank God that He atoned for the things I’ve done wrong and built a bridge between the pit of sin in which I put myself and the glory of love where He lives.  Who knows what opportunity today will bring.   Me, I hope it brings an opportunity to say and do better than I’ve done.

Lord, I’m sorry for the wrong things I’ve done, for how I’ve sinned, hurt others, and hurt You.  Forgive me, help me to change, and help me to make amends.

Leave a Reply

