Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 1 March 2013

And now, dear children, continue in him, so that when he appears we may be confident and unashamed before him at his coming.  1 John 2, verse 28.

I know where I’m going when I die.   I know I’m going to heaven, to be with Jesus through eternity.  This is a fact I accept because He promised it through His Word.  Despite all the bad things I’ve done, I know in my heart that He forgave all of them.  Because of that, He has worked to remold my life here to better share His love.   When I die, I know He will welcome me home.

And yet…

And yet doubt still creeps up at me from around the edges of my life.   The tempter still tries to lure me into sin the same way he tempted Eve:  by creating doubt.   He attempts to plant the seeds of division between God and I by saying “yeah, but” in the same way he did in Eden.  He does it by shaking my confidence.  “Are you really SURE that what Jesus said was true?   After all, He said it so long ago, and you don’t get nearly as many reminders of it as you would like.”   It’s hard to remain confident in the faith when the attacker tries to get to you where you are most vulnerable.   When that happens, my resolve weakens.

And then he does it by reminding me of my shame.  “You know, you really should be ashamed.   That X, Y or Z really was pretty bad.”  He tries to plant doubt in my mind by reminding me of how I felt when I wrapped the guilt of those sins around me like a torn blanket.  I laid down that guilt a long time ago, but the deceiver still tries to use it against me, sticking me in the conscience, trying to get me to pick up the shame and wear it all the days of my life.

Hear Jesus’ words from Isaiah 54:  no weapon formed against me will prosper.  The deceiver’s words of doubt have zero effect on me when I remain in Him.   When I keep my eye on Christ and live Him in my life, I’m bulletproof.  No creeping doubt or stinging blame can really hurt me.   Inside, where it counts, I’m gold.   Outside, I can stand.  Indeed, that redemption fuel gives me the fire I need to shake off the doubts, to kick away the serpent, and move forward into the day.  No weapon formed against me will prosper because I continue in Him.   And He always continues for me.   Because of that, I know where I’m going.

Dear Lord, thank you for being my strength, my sword and my shield.  Help me to resist temptations, to fight off evils, and to stand up for you.   Let me be a good example for others so they learn to do the same.

Leave a Reply

