Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 15 March 2013

The one who does what is sinful is of the devil, because the devil has been sinning from the beginning. The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the devil’s work.  1 John 3, verse 8.

So, if you mess up, are you of the devil?   Make no mistake about it:  all sin is a work of Satan.   It pushes us away from God.   God can’t tolerate sin because He is holy, and all sin is unholy.   Sin is not of God; it’s of the devil.  Yet are we of the devil?

Of course the answer is “yes and “no.” 

When we hitch our star to evil, we embrace it.   It has always been this way, from Adam, Eve, and Cain to Stalin, Hitler, and the Kardashians.  Remember, sin is what comes from the heart because sin starts in the heart.  Yet when we hitch our star to Christ, even when we mess up and break His rules, when we honestly come back to Him and seek His forgiveness, we are embracing and endorsing Him instead.   Love, too, comes from the heart and can be both the cause and effect of our intentions. 

What’s more, sin and the devil are powerless against Jesus.   Dark evil has never been able to overcome Him and it never will.  His light shines to overpower any kind of darkness.  From the beginning of time, when man first sinned, God intended for His Son to come and make all things new and right again.   God knew all the terrible things we would be capable of doing, so He set in motion a plan to render them moot.

“But Dave, it’s just so damn hard.  You don’t know what I’m going through.”   Oh really now.   Perhaps you and I aren’t so different.  I’ve done awful things throughout my life.  I was an adulterer.   I’ve cheated, hated, and stolen.  I have schemed to have what I wanted, and I know much worse than this.  Name a commandment and, in one way or another, I have violated it, taken part in it, or thought about it.  In my life, I have embraced darkness.

Look in the mirror and stand beside me.   Do you like what we see together?   Are our filthy, wounded, bleeding souls so much better for the evil things we’ve done?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.

So now is a good time to remember, yet again, the light of love who is Jesus can shine clean on any kind of darkness.  The devil is powerless against Him.  Christ lives and loves to change lives.  Someone like me, or you, who has done things of the devil can be washed clean and covered in the Spirit-love of Christ and stand innocent in front of God.  He teaches us to turn from the devil and be healed. 

Healing Jesus, thanks for shining your light on my dark soul.   Teach me to stand and share your light.

Leave a Reply

