Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 5 April 2013

The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.  1 John 3, verse 24.

In living a following life of Jesus, the proof is in the pudding.  When we say we are following Jesus, we are making a statement, taking a stand.   In the face of a world that is hostile to serving others, loving selflessly, and living according to His will, we are taking the side of the Savior, submitting to wherever He carries us.  We’re doing this 24/7 whether we realize it or not.

Not long ago I got a chance to talk with a friend about things that have happened in my life the last few years.  This person, as far as I know, wasn’t a close follower of Christ.  I got the privilege of living what I believe, standing up for what I believe.  I said that living real faith, working through Jesus in my marriage and in all aspects of my life, was what righted my sinking ship.  It doesn’t seem very often that we really get to have these kind of conversations, these Spirit moments as a part of daily life.   They just don’t happen on their own.   It felt great to be able to sense in the moment that I was saying and doing the right thing, the God-thing, in my own way in a moment that He put in front of me.

I thought about it afterwards, though, and realized that these kinds of moments actually happen every day.   It may not happen very often that we get to speak plainly in words with someone who’s open to listening, but in reality we speak plainly in our actions as well.  As the saying goes, our actions speak louder than words.

This is true because the folks are watching.   Our friends, our family, our coworkers, strangers, anybody:  they’re watching.  People can see through a phony a mile away, and I lived long enough as a phony to know this is true.   If the things I say or do contradict what I say I believe about God, about Jesus, people can tell.   They’re smart; they know the score.  If I’m a hypocrite, people will know it and they’ll be able to tell.   If they’re bold, even caring, enough, they can call me on it.  Either way, people will know that the Spirit of God lives in us by how we act, what we say, the ways in which we live.   It’s happening all the time.

We know by the Spirit God daily gives to us that the proof is in the pudding.

Lord, let me live in You and You in me today.  Help me to recognize that everything I do is a reflection of You by the power of Your Spirit.   Help me to be humble as You’re humble.

Leave a Reply

