Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 29 April 2013

God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them. This is how love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment: In this world we are like Jesus.  1 John 4, verses 16 and 17.

After realizing we can be happy, happy, happy in knowing that Jesus has saved us from the consequences of our choices, here comes a tall order.   Be like Jesus.   Not only the choice to be like Jesus:  you and I ARE like Jesus.

It’s a miracle to be happy, but miracles happen every day.   For me, today is the biggest miracle of all:  my anniversary.  24 years ago today I married the woman who changed my life.  It hasn’t been easy, and our tough times have been tougher than most.   She could have given up on me long ago, but she showed me that ‘for better or for worse’ means something, and because of her, my life is rich and my heart always full.

Because of her, I know that God is love, and the Apostle John was right.  In our lowest point and (literally) in the hour or my darkest desperation, when she didn’t have to, my wife reached out to me and refused to let go.   She said “God isn’t done with you yet.”   In it, she meant “God isn’t done with us yet.   There is more for us to do together.”   She was right, and life has been richer ever since.

In this world, to me, she is like Jesus.   Here and now, she models faith, strength, understanding, steadfastness, mercy, love and forgiveness.   These aren’t just words to her:   they are my wife’s code of conduct.  She knows that it’s tough to live out those words.   Tough isn’t macho, brave, and vocal.   No, she understands that faith, love and mercy are much tougher to do, and tougher words to live by, yet she does it every day.   In doing so, the lives of everyone around her are made brighter because she models for them what Jesus means to her.

And whether we realize it or not, that’s a miracle.   It’s a miracle to channel the divine love of the Creator into everything we do.   It’s a miracle because the world is set against that; this world is hostile to God, hostile to Jesus.   We are supposed to model celebrities, politicians and famous athletes, not a first century rabbi who said He was the Son of God.  Yet model we do.

Model does my wife.  She lives out her faith and serves as my spouse, my life partner, my inspiration, and my best friend.  When I am with her, I realize I’m with the one God made just for me.   When I am with my wife, Kimberly, I see Jesus living through her and living in my life.

Jesus, thank you for my wonderful wife, Kim, and for living in her life, in our lives, in my life.

Leave a Reply

