Daily Proverbial, from 1 John, 16 May 2013

We accept human testimony, but God’s testimony is greater because it is the testimony of God, which he has given about his Son.  1 John 5, verse 9.

In times like these, we need to know that the knowledge of Jesus being God is sufficient unto itself because there’s great comfort in it.  My last few weeks have been great; GREAT, actually, with a capital G.  I got a small promotion, my project is kicking into high gear and I’m privileged to be finally executing program plans that I’ve been formulating for a year.   In my personal life, my wife and I are buying land to plant a vineyard, my first book is being published, and my kids are doing quite, quite well.  Great news abounds.  For good times like these, I really, really need to know the comfort of the Savior so that I don’t let pride set me up for a fall.  I’ve always struggled with arrogant pride, and I find that the good times are almost universally ripe soil for a crop of sin.   When things are good, I desperately need to know that Jesus is King and that I’m not.  I need to cling to that because good times don’t last in our fallen world.

Proof of that is everywhere.  Just yesterday, my friend and mentor sent me a message that his grandson had been killed in a car accident.  Death is always unexpected, but such a loss, especially of a child, screams out how we need Jesus’ comfort.   I’m thankful my friend is one of the strongest believers I know; his faith has been an example of steadfastness for me, so I believe that, even now, that faith must be an anchor of hope for him and his family.  Yet there’s no way to downplay grief because even Jesus wept for His friends when death came.

I have another friend who is living through an unexpected life threatening-illness.   It came on him in just a few days.   He, too, is a strong believer, and I marvel at how his faith is helping him deal proactively and decisively with the illness.   At the start of the year, my friend never would have imagined how quickly his life could change, but now that the change has happened, I can’t think of how he could have dealt otherwise but for living through the experience of faith in Jesus.

It is that faith that is testified by God Himself that makes success possible in good times and bad.  Nobody wants unexpected death, or brain tumors, or IRS troubles, storm damage or any of the myriad plagues of the Earth.  Jesus in all times makes enduring through the good and bad a matter of trust instead of simply a chore of self-reliance.  Please keep my friends in your prayers.

Jesus, Your Spirit, Your Father, and You testify to your true love.   Abide with me today in the good and bad things that await ahead of us.

Leave a Reply

