Daily Proverbial, from James, 6 January 2014

Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains.  James 5, verse 7.

A very happy new trip around the sun to you!   How about we plant a new crop for the new year?

You see, I love farming.  I really do.   Some of my best memories are of childhood days spent at farms, walking around barns, being near animals.   I love it every time I get a chance to drive out in the country, to tour farms, ranches, and vineyards.   A few months ago, my wife and I were sharing a bottle of wine at an east Texas vineyard when I told her that growing things, making wine, and meeting people was all I wanted to do for the rest of my life.   And I meant it.

To this end, we are in the process of starting a vineyard.   Our goal is to buy land in east Texas and plant a vineyard.  God-willing, “Second Chance Vineyards” will be open for business next year or in 2016 at the latest.   Our mission is to use our passions for wine, growing things, and meeting people to spread the Gospel in any way we can.   Through wine, pumpkins, books, tastings, tours, whatever:   whoever we meet gets put in touch with God’s Word.

It’s kind of like farming, you see (very much like it given that viticulture is, well, farming).  God planted an idea seed in us.   We know we’re blessed, we enjoy meeting people, we have always wanted to start a business together, and we really like wine.  And I love farming and she loves the country.   Sounds like a plan to me!

Here’s the kicker:   it’s not about me, or us.   I’ve used ½ of this blog to talk about what I want, but it’s my hope that this is nothing more than growing the seed God already planted.  Farmers raise crops, watching the rain, the temperature, the seasons.   From these they know how to adjust their methods and make the most out of a crop.

You and me, we are farmers, too.  God sowed the seeds of His love in our lives.   You and I get to plant that elsewhere, water and fertilize it, and help it grow to produce a crop.   We then get to replant that crop everywhere we go.  Through it, we watch love grown and watch the seasons of our lives turn, keeping an eye on the skies for when He will return and all will be complete.

God willing, my wife and I will do some of our farming on a small parcel of land south of Paris.  If not there, then perhaps somewhere else nearby.   I’m just the farmer.

Lord, help me to farm where You have me this year.

 

Where are you farming now?

What crop have you sown in the hearts of others?

What talents did God give you to help your crop grow?

One thought on “Daily Proverbial, from James, 6 January 2014

Leave a Reply

