Practical Proverbial, from Ruth, 3 April 2014.

At this, the guardian-redeemer said, “Then I cannot redeem it because I might endanger my own estate. You redeem it yourself. I cannot do it.”  Ruth 4, verse 6.

Common sense is reflected all throughout the Bible.  Sure, there are the stories of miracles, and of things that, in the Western world, are difficult to understand.   These are dazzling things, yet the more you learn about God the more you learn that these are par for the course.   Of course they are miracles:  He’s God.   It makes sense that He gives His people the common ability to perceive and judge things that are clear just by themselves because He makes Himself fully known through all He is and does.

We don’t know the name of the guardian-redeemer with whom Boaz met; we don’t need to know his name.   In fact, we don’t  know much about either Boaz or this other man except that they met according to custom at the gate in Bethlehem.  And they interacted with common sense.

The other man understood what Boaz was offering.   Not just property:   property and a wife.   Perhaps he was already married; perhaps he already had arrangements made for the disposition of his inheritance.   Perhaps there was another reason.   We don’t know.  What we do know is that the two men acted in common sense.   If one couldn’t redeem the customary obligation, he said so.   He said so and acted on it.  The other, Boaz, would then be free to act as he would.  No agenda; easy to understand; action and not procrastination.   It was plain for all to see; common sense.

Do you act in such simple, no-nonsense ways?   I sometimes find it hard to.    It makes me wonder what I, as a so-called modern man, am doing so wrong that a man born thousands of years ago could live simpler than me and act with more common sense.   So little of what I read in the news today smacks of common sense; so little of the news I share contains common sense.  I don’t act in ways that are plainly simple; I judge far too much and too often.  

Jesus said “let your yes be yes and your no be no.”   THAT is common sense.   The guardian redeemer who spoke with Boaz understood this.   “I’d like to help you Boaz but I can’t.”   No hemming and hawing, or endless Facebook debates, or pointing out a thousand reasons why.   Yes and no.  God you Are and I am not.   Simple.  Common sense.

Lord thank You for living and speaking in common sense terms.   Teach me how to better serve You in common sense ways.

 

Read Ruth 4.

How can you make your actions more common sense?

Do you value common sense?

Leave a Reply

