Practical Proverbial, from Mark, 6 March 2015

Where did this man get these things?” they asked. “What’s this wisdom that has been given him? What are these remarkable miracles he is performing? Isn’t this the carpenter? Isn’t this Mary’s son and the brother of James, Joseph, Judas and Simon? Aren’t his sisters here with us?” And they took offense at him. Mark 6, verses 2-3.

This is me.

Time and again I have been rightfully accused of being a know-it-all, of acting condescending towards others, of always trying to get the last word, of being cocky and superior. Guilty as charged on all counts. The best thing to do with the truth is accept it, and the truth is that I do look down on some people, especially those who don’t agree with me; after all, I’m right…right? Count me in with the Jews at the synagogue that Saturday when they got all pissed off at Jesus for being just Jesus.

They were PO’d because, in their eyes, He wasn’t being ‘just Jesus.’ They had pigeonholed him as being ‘the nobody.’   He wasn’t educated; He wasn’t a trained cleric or rabbi.   Jesus was just ‘the carpenter’ who had plain and simple parents, brothers and sisters.   This new and improved carpenter wasn’t the kid who had grown up there.   This guy had guts. Who was Jesus to talk to THEM like He was?   How dare He do that!

Self-righteous sinner SOB’s, right? Yep.   If they would talk like that about the Son of God right in front of His face, what do you think they would say about other people they judged?   About you or me?   Arrogant, condescending, last-word-getting, cocky, superior know-it-all’s.   Also known as “small town;” elsewhere in Scripture people talk down about Nazareth, their town, saying “can anything good come from there?”   They’re also known as “big city,” where the cosmopolitan beautiful people look down on those not good enough to be cosmopolitan beautiful people (also known as “just people”).

And.

They’re also known as ‘you and me.’  No offense, but I’m not responsible for you.   You’re responsible for you; I have enough to handle on my own, and while I love you as my friend, you have enough on your hands, too.   You have to pony up and be responsible for your own self.   There:   doesn’t that sound condescending?

Tell me: do you think Jesus got attitude with these know it all’s? My guess:   you bet He did. But perhaps it’s a reasonable assumption to make that Jesus’ attitude wasn’t exactly the attitude you or I would have.   Remember:   Jesus is all man and all God (all at the same time).   If you or I get our hackles up, it’s reasonable to assume that Jesus did too.   As man, I bet His eyes got wider and heartbeat faster.   As man and God, however, He took the high road.   He listened.   He respected.   He said and did nothing to contradict the things He had just taught to these men.

That is not me.   That’s not you either; sorry again but the splash of cold water for us is needed now and then (lest we become cocky know-it-all’s). WWJD?   Good question, but perhaps the better one should be “What should I do knowing how Jesus acted?” And even better than that: “what is Jesus telling me right now?”   After all, He does talk to us day by day, sometimes minute by minute. And when He does, it’s never meant in offense.

Dear Jesus, speak to my heart.   Forgive my arrogance, my unfeeling posture.

Read Mark 6, verses 1-6

Leave a Reply

