Practical Proverbial, from Mark, 28 May 2015

They came to Bethsaida, and some people brought a blind man and begged Jesus to touch him. He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?” He looked up and said, “I see people; they look like trees walking around.” Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly. Jesus sent him home, saying, “Don’t even go into the village.” Mark 8, verses 22-26.

Another healing where Jesus doesn’t want the guy to talk about it.   He doesn’t even want the man to stop and talk to anyone.   Instead, He sends the man home. Gee, what do you think Al Sharpton would do in the same situation?   Or Joel Osteen?   How about you or me?

But we aren’t Jesus and it’s a dangerous fool’s game to presume we would know His mind or His will.   If we cling to the ways of the world, the ways of our past, we can’t.   Believe it or not, I think that’s the message Jesus was sending to this (formerly) blind man.   Give up the past and focus on me.   He was telling the man to go home and get started on living a new life using the gift Jesus gave him.

The man must have been beloved in Bethsaida; he was known. Since it says Jesus ‘restored’ his sight, perhaps the man had once been able to see. That makes sense since he describes people as looking like trees:   something that a man who had never seen either trees or people would be unable to easily do. Jesus gives the man a gift and tells him to go home, to return to the place the man knows best, and then to begin again.   Do you think the man kept quiet?   From these verses, we don’t know.

But think about what Jesus is telling the man to do.   Start at home; go back to what you know , and only there start telling people what God has done for you.   Isn’t that the same thing He usually tells each of us?   Where it matters most, be unafraid to share what God has done in our lives.   After all, it is in our homes that people know us best.   The mission (for others to accept Jesus) stands a much better chance of success if those receiving the news do so from someone with whom they’re familiar.

Jesus healed my life. You’ve read before of my marital problems from several years ago.   I’d give anything to go back and not hurt people the ways I did, to un-do those terrible things.   But I can’t do that.   What I can do is talk about how Jesus brought my wife and I back together and how He healed our lives, how He helped us to build a new life instead of going back to just live in the old one.   In a way, I was once blind and Jesus opened my eyes.   Then He told me to get to work honoring Him by honoring my wife, then my kids, then friends and so on. It made all the difference.   These days, I’ll tell anyone who wants to listen my story.   If it helps to connect just one more person to the Lord, it’s worthwhile and it started at home:   just like the blind man.

Lord, thank You for healing me.

Read Mark 8, verses 27-30.

Leave a Reply

