Practical Proverbial, from Mark, 30 September 2015

Then they came to Jericho. As Jesus and his disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving the city, a blind man, Bartimaeus (which means “son of Timaeus”), was sitting by the roadside begging. When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” Many rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!” Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.” Mark 10, verses 46-49.

What did Jesus say?   He said “call him.”   Do you grasp the depth of that, of those two simple words?   He’s calling you too.

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I saw Garth Brooks in concert.   During the song “Calling Baton Rouge,” I videoed the performance and sent it to my daughter, Samantha, because (when Sammie was a little girl) she used to get all excited when Garth sang her name in the song.   Garth’s song may have been about calling a girlfriend in Baton Rouge but my daughter thought he was calling her.

Yet there’s a better call than one from Garth. Jesus calls us.

Jesus is calling you.

He’s calling you and me just the way He called Bartimaeus. Bartimaeus was a blind beggar with no hope.   I find it interesting that the Bible mentions him, an obscure stranger, by name.   Maybe it’s something we’re supposed to remember, and maybe we’re supposed to remember him by name because Jesus called him like He’s calling us.   Bartimaeus made his living by begging for money because there was no other way; he had no other way to earn.   He used his condition of no hope to early the only way he could.

Sort of like you and I, both of us people who use our time and talents as best we can to get by in a sometimes hopeless world…

…except that Jesus calls us. Except that Jesus sees us where we are and knows us by name and in a sometimes hopeless world gives us His hope to make the world irrelevant. In the middle of our muck and our sins, Jesus calls us.   He calls us to cling first to Him in everything we think, say and do.   He calls us to know that everything that could ever be done to save us from the terror of our sins He has done on the cross.   He calls us, then, to let Him remold our thinking, our hearts, and our actions. And He calls us to follow.

Those words help me to remember that celebrities are great but Jesus calling me is better than a call from Garth Brooks or Jack Black, who I saw in person yesterday.   They’re profound because they me that the Son of God knows me personally, that He desires a relationship with me personally despite all the things I’ve done to deny and abuse and rebel against Him.   And He desires that our Father see me as holy and pure so that we can live out the rest of my days here in ways that serve Him and His great mission as well as live eternally with Them beyond here.

Lord, thank You for calling me in Your Word, in my heart, in my mind, and when I least deserve it.   You rock my world. Teach and strengthen me to do what You want me to do today where I am.

Read Mark 10, verses 46-52.

Leave a Reply

