Practical Proverbial, 12 August 2016. This week’s topic: delegation

Delegation

Brothers and sisters, choose seven men from among you who are known to be full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will turn this responsibility over to them and will give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the word. Acts 6, verses 3-4.

Today is a milestone at the house here in Paris.   Today my wife started her first paying job in several years.   For a few months now she’s been looking for a position in which to both serve others and earn extra money.   Today she began in one.

Today, also, my manager (a company vice president) delegated several tasks to me.   All summer I’ve been working from home and, to be honest with you, I wanted more work.   I’ve been in-between long-term projects, so I’ve been helping others (remotely) on theirs.   Today, my boss gave me that work.

Have you ever considered that it’s a Godly thing for us to delegate things to each other?   In fact, have you considered that God WANTS us to delegate?

Recall the story of Jethro, Moses’ father-in-law, who saw that his son-in-law was overworked and stressed.   In Exodus 18, Jethro tells Moses “look, brah, appoint a few guys to help you out on this and God will bless the work of all of you.”

Recall Luke chapter 9, in which Jesus sends His twelve disciples out to minister in His name. He told them “get up and go now, just as you are, and preach Me wherever you go.”   And they did it.   Successfully, even.

Recall Acts chapter 6 in Jesus has gone to heaven and the Disciples are discussing how to actively care for the growing number of believers.   They decide to appoint seven men to help with the hands-on aspects of caring for the hundreds of new believers in and around Jerusalem.

Recall that the Apostle Paul taught numerous acolytes to preach and teach the name of Jesus as he moved through his missionary journeys.   Rick Warren points out that, in 2 Timothy 4, Paul talks about men with whom he has served and ministered and various good and bad things they have done.

Get the picture?   Simon and Garfunkel were wrong:   I am not a rock and I am not an island.   If I’m anything, I’m an island in an archipelago, one of many, and one who makes up part of God’s larger whole.   I can’t do everything by myself and God isn’t asking me to. What He does ask is that we, first, rely primarily on Him and then, second, delegate what we can’t or shouldn’t handle. We’re supposed to prayerfully take EVERYTHING to Him and ask for His involvement.   If you think about it, He’s involved anyway so why wouldn’t we?

Then, He asks us to use our talents and involve others.   Friends, family, employees, superiors, even strangers:   we are to wisely delegate tasks so that we can turn our focus onto doing our work at hand the best we can. . God gives us each other so that we can support each other and that, in doing so, His glory may increase in ways it couldn’t if we simply kept it to ourselves.

Today my wife and I each got the chance to do that, with each of us serving in roles through work delegated to us. It worked for Moses, Jesus and the Disciples.   Chances are it’ll work fine for us as well.

This is how we manage God’s way.

For more reading:   Exodus 18: 19-23, Luke 9: 1-6; 2 Timothy 4: 10-13.

Lord Jesus, help us to each delegate work to others. I know I can’t do everything on my own, so teach me to delegate meaningful work to others, and to empower them to do that work in Your Name.   Thank You for making us unique in this way.

Leave a Reply

