Practical Proverbial, from Hebrews, 1 September 2016

In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe.   Hebrews 1, verses 1-2.

Rebooting again here, folks.   You see, earlier this summer I took a hiatus from doing these blog posts.   My wife and I were moving and I needed time to do moving-related tasks.   When I began to re-engage with the blog, I wanted to explore a different way of doing them, yet I found I wasn’t yet truly interested in writing that way.   Rather than focusing all on myself – writing is actually a selfish pastime – I dropped back again and asked God what He wanted me to do in pursuing said pastime.   His response?   “Get back in the game, kid. It isn’t about you.” Over weeks, I’ve felt the pull to go back to the future and resume these verse by verse commentaries.   Perhaps my efforts are best used this way at this moment. Knowing that, we’re back here together and I’m thankful for your company.   We’ll share some Bible verses, some thoughts, some NIV references, and some of the time God gives us. Perhaps the best summation of this exercise is “praise to Him” and “thanks for your patience.”

Yet another comment is how the book of Hebrews begins.   Years ago, the first formal / informal Bible study in which I participated was on the book of Hebrews. It speaks to me in ways the other books don’t. When that happens, I honestly believe it is God’s Spirit – the Spirit of God the Father and God the Son, Jesus – speaking, imparting meaning into my heart.   Folks more learned than myself in these things might call it “divine inspiration” (though I’m sure there’s a proper ecclesiastical term for it…someone from a seminary please chime in). In reading Hebrews 1 today, I noted that God speaks in various ways; the verse says as much.   Perhaps He is speaking through our time together to motivate the movement in our hearts; movements that inspire us to follow His will in action and in words.

This same Jesus who uses His Spirit to inspire us was given by His Father to be the inheritor of all that is.   You and I are temporary custodians of the property and the lives we’re given.   In reality, we report to Jesus, the ultimate higher authority, who is over us and all that we know.   That’s not some passing concept.   It’s the design of things from before our fall in Eden.

Think about it. In ancient days, God spoke directly to men.   When we messed that up through our sins, He spoke through prophets:   pastors and spiritual leaders appointed to translate God’s word through authority.   And when we didn’t get the message that way, He came here to Earth, fully God and fully man all at once, and spoke with us face to face.   He wasn’t present just in a burning bush, a whispering wind, or a third-person relation:   He was Jesus, in the flesh, speaking, doing, and living among us.

What’s more, this same Jesus is the same Jesus who (as the Apostle John said) ‘was with God, was God, and was with God in the beginning.’ Nothing you and I see or touch, nothing of which we know, was made without Him making it.   The universe and everything in it, from the boiling hot stars to the sleeping baby in a crib, was made by God’s loving hand as Jesus. Aslan the lion sang Narnia into existence.   Jesus the Lord and Savior of all Creation spoke and everything was.

And man, His greatest creation, was “very good.”   Sad and funny how that one turned out.   That’s for discussion as we move along.

For now, let’s noodle the thought that, when God speaks to us now, it’s through His Son Jesus’ Spirit in His Word.   Read the book of Hebrews – indeed any book in the Bible – and when you draw meaning, it’s not just your knoggin at work:   it’s the Lord speaking to you.   He’s teaching you, addressing you, comforting you, preparing you for what He wants you to do with that knowledge.   For me, part of it is writing about it.   For you, I hope part of it is to read.

Thanks for your patience either way!

For more reading:   John 1:1, John 9:29, Acts 2:30, and Hebrews 1: 1-14.

Lord Jesus, thank You so much for speaking to me through Your Word.   Thank You for being the master of creation, the creator of all I know, and the Savior I need every day.

Leave a Reply

