Practical Proverbial, from Hebrews, 16 September 2016

He also says, “In the beginning, Lord, you laid the foundations of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands. Hebrews 1, verse 10.

If a pitch for creationism turns you off, then ignore today’s message.   I’m going to make a shameless one.   Actually, I’m just siding with God and billions of other people. God makes the pitch on His own.

Zechariah 12:1 says “The Lord, who stretches out the heavens, who lays the foundation of the earth, and who forms the human spirit within a person.” Psalm 8:6 says, “You made them rulers over the works of your hands; you put everything under their feet.” And chapters 1 and 2 of Genesis give God’s account of how He created everything. Today’s verse from Hebrews reiterates that account and affirms the statements from Zechariah and the Psalm.   Indeed, verse 10 affirms every statement in the Bible mentioning how God created the heavens and the earth. In fact, http://www.studybibleforum.com/htm_php.php3 says that the word “create” is mentioned 49 times in the Bible.   The same reference says “heavens” is mentioned 179 times, and it says “earth” is mentioned 861 times.

That’s a lot of mutually exclusive self-proof. I’ve often debated atheist friends in the creation-vs-evolution harangue and I remind them that you can’t use creation to disprove evolution (nor can you use evolution to disprove creation).   Both concepts are replete with scientific holes and are directly competing for the same airspace.   To prove one you need both belief in it (also called “faith”) and corroborating evidence from the same concept/theory.   When you look at the concepts in this way, evolution is still full of scientific holes (millions of years of them in fact) while creation is quite unified, sequential, and holistic.

Don’t take it from me.   Like I said, to believe in one ‘theory’ or the other requires faith.   You have to accept what it says and accept there are things about it that don’t line up with your understanding.   Fair enough, so investigate it on your own.   If you’re intellectually honest about the whole pursuit, you’re going to end up back here with what I just said:   evolution doesn’t add up while creation adds up quite nicely.

None of us fully knows why the author of Hebrews included this mention in the book. Most likely, he was giving a praise to God that would be commonly understood and acceptable to the target audience of believers.   But isn’t it interesting that, coming on the heels of verses 8 and 9, which talk about God proving Himself to us and his royal pedigree, the author includes a praise that proves how that shouldn’t surprise us because God is the ultimate creator.   All that we think, sense, and live among comes from the brilliance of His soul.   He thought of all this, then He spoke and it came into being.

Try doing that sometime and let me know how it turns out.

Frankly, I don’t understand it.   I count myself as highly educated, thank you very much, with educational, vocational, and bibliographical pedigrees to back that up; yes I have a lot of books.   Big freaking deal. At the end of all that smarty pants talk, I still don’t understand how God made life.   How He made babies, bumble bees, birds, and birch trees that all live as part of nature, are all genetically and atomically diverse, yet all are replete with that same mysterious force called “life.”   I don’t understand how gravity works and why every other force in the universe is affected by it. I sometimes don’t understand why some healthy species or organisms die out while others succeed; this became especially apparent as I farmed pumpkins all summer long. When you strip away the college degrees, there’s more to this world that I don’t understand than I do.

Are you in the same boat?   Einstein was; so was Issac Newton and they’re much smarter than me, and maybe you, too.

What’s missing is faith.

Faith explains to me how everything was made by God to serve and grow His glory.   My faith is re-affirmed when I am blessed to absorb a little of the beauty of nature.   My faith is grown when I read the words of verse 10 and the other Bible verses that support it, reading how greater men than me had the good sense enough to praise God for the obvious wonder of His creation.   They didn’t understand how He did it all any more than Einstein, Newton or Charles Darwin did.   I don’t understand it either. But I believe in it, and I’m thankful that God did it, and that I get to be a part of it today.

For more reading:   Psalm 8:6, Zechariah 12:1, Genesis 1-2.

Lord, I praise You for Your creation!  

 

One thought on “Practical Proverbial, from Hebrews, 16 September 2016

  1. Pingback: The 1st Adam in the Hebrew Scriptures #3 With his partner – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

